New house, extra large screen TV, comfortable couch and warm blanket! All this on a cold winter Saturday evening, with nothing else to do but relax a little. And we chose ‘On Golden Pond‘ and a glass of red wine to go with it.

It’s an old movie, from 1981, but it has a really great distribution : Katharine Hepburn, Henry Fonda and Jane Fonda. It’s about an old couple (Ethel and Norman) who on summer time go to their cottage, at Golden Pond. He is beginning to feel old, he keeps forgetting things,but he also starts to be a bit grumpy, which makes him even funnier.

Their daughter, Chelsea, comes to visit them just before Norman’s birthday and she comes with her fiance and his son. The young couple leaves the second day on a trip to Europe and leave the child with the new grandparents. They adapt slowly to each other until they develop a strong relationship, much better than the relationship that Chelsea had with her parents.

Henry Fonda (who I recently saw in ’12 Angry Men’) excellently plays his character. He managed to make me laugh out loud, but sometimes he almost made me cry. Maybe because this couple really reminded me of my grandparents and the movie made me feel a bit sad with the fact that they are not around me anymore to give me all the new grandson got in the movie.

So, for a lazy weekend inside, this is a very good choice.

